My Aspirations for 2017

Happy New Year beautiful people!

Much the same as last year, I won’t be setting resolutions because I feel there is too much pressure that comes with the word. I am going to be setting aspirations; something that I hope to achieve. That way, if I don’t manage to get something on the list done or it doesn’t happen how I want it to, I am less likely to feel disheartened. However, there is nothing wrong with setting resolutions if that is something that inspires you. You do you!

My aspirations for this year are things that I hope will help to improve my confidence and self love. This is going to be the year of me. And I don’t mean that in a selfish way, I just want to focus more on being happy and growing as a person.

my-7-aspirations-for-2017

No.1 Focus more on my own happiness.

I plan on doing what makes me feel good and if there is something that doesn’t, I want to be able to say so.

No. 2 Take the time to listen to what my body needs.

This is something that is so important due to my IBD. There are times when I forget to take my medication or forget to drink enough water or even overwork myself. I am going to work on being more aware of what it is my body is telling me; whether that’s “go for a nap” or “eat that chocolate bar”.

No. 3 To take each day as it comes.

I often have so much anxiety over what’s to come in the next few days/ weeks or stressing about things that have happened in the past and it totally removes me from the present moment. I want to be able to be fully here and I think by doing this, my happiness will improve greatly.

No.4 Learn to love every single version of myself.

I want to love every part of me on the good and bad days; when I’m happy, sad, anxious, in pain etc.

No.5 Spend more time with friends. I don’t see my friends enough and I think a big part of that is down to becoming comfortable in my routine. This year, I am ready to step out of my comfort zone and put more effort into my friendships and taking part in lots of fun stuff!

No.6 Get back into my spiritual practice.

I’ve fallen away from my meditation, yoga and other rituals that I had been loving. I want to get back into this again as I felt great at the time. If anyone has any suggestions or recommendations of self-improvement/spiritual books, please leave me a comment 🙂

No.7 Choose positive over negative.

We can control our thoughts and although it can be difficult, it is possible. Our mind is a very powerful thing and can control our life if we let it. I am going to be taking back control of my mind by focusing on positive thoughts more.

Thank you for reading, let me know in the comments one thing you are hoping for in 2017. I wish you all the most wonderful joy-filled year!

Love and light,

Rebecca xo

Leave a Reply

