Highlights of My Year-2016

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and are enjoying the rest of the holidays before the New Year. As there are only a few days left of 2016, I thought I would share a bit about my year with you. Although it’s not all been sunshine and rainbows- there have been many struggles too- I wanted to focus on the experiences that I have loved this year and those that I’m grateful for.

PERSONAL HIGHLIGHTS:

JANUARY-MARCH

2016 started off pretty well for me as I turned 21 in February and had such an amazing time celebrating. My mum and step-dad got me a lovely gift of a night away in a hotel with my fiance and it was so beautiful. I then had lots of fun with family and friends and even had a small party. It was fantastic! Also, in February I completed my modern apprenticeship and became a qualified nursery practitioner. I am absolutely loving my job and was so grateful to be offered a position in the nursery were I did my training. In March, I was lucky enough to attend two gigs; Adele and Country2Country. Both of these were incredible. Adele was so amazing live and I had such a brilliant time. At Country2Country, I got to meet one of the singers, Andrew Combs- I was so happy because I got to tell him I loved his cardigan haha – who was great live. One of my favourite singers, Kacey Musgraves was performing and she was absolutely wonderful! It was a brilliant gig and I’m happy that I will be going back next year.

APRIL-MAY

In April, I went to see Macklemore and Ryan Lewis live for the second time and it was brilliant! I was having way too much fun bouncing around to the songs that I didn’t get any good pictures! My holiday in May to Portugal was probably one of the biggest highlights of 2016. The weather was brilliant and it was so lovely to have a week to just relax in the sunshine with my best friend. We made so many memories and I can’t wait for our holiday in 2017 that we will have!

JUNE-SEPTEMBER

In June, I had my graduation for completing my modern apprenticeship and it was a brilliant day. After the ceremony, my mum, Connor and I went out for a lovely meal to celebrate. I went for my first girls weekend away to Edinburgh in August and it was so much fun. (You can read my post all about it here.)

OCTOBER-DECEMBER

My mum graduated in October and now has a Post Graduate Diploma Level in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy. I am so so proud of her and all the work she has put in to get to where she is today. Her graduation was so beautiful and very emotional! To finish off the year, I had a wonderful Christmas with my family and I am so grateful for everyone in my life right now.

Also a little side note on my health in 2016; overall it’s been a pretty good year in terms of my IBD, I haven’t had a flare up since the beginning of the year and that cleared up quickly with steroids. I have had to cut out some dairy products to try to help my stomach pains but so far I haven’t noticed a great change. I am just so thankful that I have made it to December without a serious issue or hospital admission. Let’s hope that continues long into 2017!

BLOG HIGHLIGHTS:

I can’t believe I reached the one year milestone in September with my blog! Thank you to all of you for reading, liking, following and commenting; it means so much.

My blog post; 8 Pieces of Advice for anyone suffering with Inflammatory Bowel Disease was featured on thedisclosed.com and the response was amazing.  I am so glad I managed to help raise awareness of IBD and help some people suffering.

I also wrote An Honest Letter to my Illness where I really sat and thought about what it was like to live with IBD and how it had changed, not only my life, but me as a person. I feel that since writing this, I have come to terms with it more and accepted it as part of me.

I set up my very own Etsy Shop this year, which is something I had wanted to do for a long while. I sell inspirational, handwritten quotes, gifts and cards. If you are interested, you can check it out here. It would mean a lot if you left some feedback on what you think of the products.

To finish this post off, I would like to say a huge thank you to everyone who was there to share these wonderful experiences with me and to my followers for always being there to read what I post. I hope everyone has an amazing New Year and I wish you all the best for 2017 ❤

Love and Light,

Rebecca xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

