Acceptance

Hey lovely readers, sorry I haven’t been as active on here recently…I have been struggling with things to write about as I wasn’t feeling so positive within myself and felt that blogging about positive things just wouldn’t be authentic. So today, I want to talk about my experience with accepting change.

ACCEPTANCE:  willingness to tolerate a difficult situation.

Within the past couple of months or so my IBS (irritable bowel syndrome(different from my IBD: inflammatory bowel disease)) has been flaring up. I’ve been having pains in my stomach almost every day and have been feeling generally unwell. I continued with taking my medications and trying to reduce any stress. I knew I had my annual hospital checkup on the 7th of July so I held off going to my doctor until then. When I went for my appointment, the consultant seemed happy that my Ulcerative Colitis (IBD) was under control and that it was my IBS playing up. He told me to try cutting out dairy to see if that would help my symptoms. Coming away from that appointment, I was quite happy with how things had gone and feeling positive that I had something to try.

However, a few days into going dairy free and my thoughts and feelings about it weren’t so positive. I started thinking of all my favourite foods that I could no longer have; pizza,chocolate, cakes, ice-cream etc. I realised that this was not the way to go about it so I researched into alternatives and have been finding it not so bad since. I’ve even been able to go out for meals and find something to eat that I like with no dairy.

I have still been feeling a little down and not really sure why. I think it is a mixture of change and hormones. Change has always been something that I’ve struggled with, even if it is a positive change. I’ve always found it a little hard to accept the transition to a new experience in life but I am willing to stop resisting. I really want to share this ‘Acceptance Prayer’  with you as it is what I have been reading every day to shift my mood.

I have realised how important acceptance is. Acceptance allows you to be free of the power of your life circumstances as you are making the choice to accept whatever is going on. Acceptance is also you trusting that life will work out and that the universe has your back. It will stop you from feeling fearful of change. So whenever something comes up for you, take a deep breath and repeat “I accept” until you feel the stress and angst melt away. Trust and have faith that everything happens for a reason and all will be well. It will not happen overnight but if you are willing to accept, you are on the right track to long lasting happiness.

Thank you for reading and I hope this has been helpful to you ❤

Love and Light,

Rebecca xo

 

 

3 thoughts on “Acceptance

  1. Admitting that you’re struggling with positivity is a very authentic thing — no one expects you to be happy and inspiring all the time. In fact, suggesting ways to deal with a lack of inspiration would be a great resource for your readers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

