5 Tips to Create Calm

Do you feel as if your head is constantly buzzing and your thoughts are on overdrive? Do you find it hard to relax and take time to chill out? If the answer to these questions is “yes”, then I have 5 wonderful tips for you today that will help bring calm into your world!

calm-book-meta.png

This post is inspired from Calm book by Michael Acton Smith. I absolutely love this book and it has beautiful pages. Go check it out if you are interested in learning more about calm and mindfulness. The Calm app also has some great meditations and calming soundsthat you can use on the go.

Be Present

Be here in every moment. Notice your surroundings and how beautiful they are. When talking to a loved one, really look at them and give your full attention. When you are out a walk, really look at the nature around you; smell the flowers, listen to the birds and just be aware of the world you live in.

Stop Future Tripping

Stop worrying about tomorrow, for in two days tomorrow will be yesterday. The only thing that is real is right now. This moment right here is right where you need to be.

IMG_5873

Keep a Journal

This is something I have been doing recently, and I am loving it! It really helps me to feel thankful for what has happened that day and also if I have had a particularly stressful day I write down 3 highlights of the day. You don’t have to write down every thought or detail of your life. You can start by writing a list of what you are grateful for. Buy a pretty notebook and colourful pens to make it fun!You could even use your phone as an on-the-go journal.

Here is one of the journal pages from the Calm book.

Be More Mindful

Choose to be more mindful in every aspect of your life. For example, before you go to sleep at night, make sure you stop using electronic devices at least 30 minutes before. This is something I really need to work on as I am the worst for staying on my phone scrolling through social media for hours! Also, be mindful when you are eating. How many times are you quickly munching your lunch in your break, or watching TV or on the phone? While eating, be completely present in the moment; savour every bite and take your time. Eating is one of the most important things for our bodies so slow down and enjoy it. When you start to practice mindfulness in your life, you will feel a sense of calm in and around you. Mindfulness also lowers blood pressure, reduces pain and improves sleep. So overall you will feel healthier, both physically and mentally!

Create a Calm Spot

Create an area in your house/room that you can go to and instantly feel at peace. This could be a dressing table filled with your favourite things or a small corner in your bedroom. For me this area is my altar in my bedroom which I created using some shelves and drawers. (To check out my altar, have a look here). You can fill this area with inspirational prints (check out my LiveInTheLightShop!)photos of your loved ones, positive messages, candles, incense, cards, books, ornaments, sentimental items,n drawings/paintings etc. Anything that makes you feel good!

 

I hope this helps you to add a little peace and calm in your life.

Love and Light ❤

6 thoughts on “5 Tips to Create Calm

    1. I’m glad it inspired you to read the book, it really is a beautiful book. Thank you for having a look at my blog and for following☺️ I just had a nosy at your blog and your writing is beautiful 💗

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

