“Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway!”

img_0647I have just finished reading “Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway” by Susan Jeffers, for the second time. I first read this book over a year ago when anxiety first became a problem for me. It totally spoke to me and it helped me through a really tough time. I recently picked it up again due to my anxiety becoming worse again and this time, I feel like I connected even more deeply with the words. I wanted to share some of what I have learned with you in the hopes that it will help you face up to any fears that may be holding you back.

It’s funny because I haven’t written a blog post in a few weeks and believe it or not, it was down to me feeling “the fear”. I had hit a block with writing and the longer that I left it, the worse I felt. Today, I noticed the book sitting on my altar and I just knew that I had to face up to my fear. Now that I have started writing, I feel good and the anxious feelings have disappeared!

There are so many different things that we might be fearful about; public speaking, falling in love, change, relationships, career, money, being alone, making decisions, heights, spiders…. whatever it may be, it is not a nice feeling. However, we don’t have to let it hold us back from living our most expansive lives.

One of the main things that hold us back is the thought of what other people will think of us and if they are judging us. Why should it matter? No one else’s opinion can make you feel inferior, unless you give them the power to do so.

img_0645
Miracles Now Deck by Gabrielle Bernstein(top left). Crazy Sexy Love Notes by Kris Carr(bottom left/right).

In “Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway”, Susan Jeffers states that “the only way to get rid of the fear of doing something is to go out…and do it .” This is so true because I bet there has been a time in your life where you have dreaded doing something yet when you eventually do it, you feel so much relief and it probably wasn’t as bad as you thought it was going to be!

Now, I’m not saying you have to go out and face your deepest fear head on…but taking small steps to get there is a way to ease into it. For example, say you are afraid of change and even the slightest adaptation makes you feel anxious, to start off with you could change one thing in your daily routine. Start off small and build up your confidence in facing your fears. Don’t rush it and be gentle with yourself. This is all a great opportunity for growth.

Another great point I have learned from the book and applying to my life is to “Say YES to your Universe.”  Everything that comes your way, no matter how scary, just say yes to it. When you accept what is happening in your life, it becomes easier to overcome the fear. In saying ‘yes’ lies the antidote to our fear.” If you are constantly saying ‘no’ to the things in your life, you are blocking your growth. I believe in you and you should believe in you too! You can do this. Feel the fear and do it anyway!

I hope that this has helped you and that you make a small step to facing your fears today. I would love to hear about your journey so if you would like to share, you can chat with me here 🙂

Love and Light ❤

Rebecca xo

 

Leave a Reply

