Forget Future-Tripping; You Are Right Where You Need To Be

Do you worry about the future? Are you constantly thinking of what’s going to happen in the next hour, tomorrow or even next week? Do you feel like you’re not fully present in the moment and appreciating what you have?

That’s exactly how I have been feeling this week and I have been constantly stressing out! This morning I was in the middle of another stress-out and I realised that I was freaking out over what was going to happen and what was going to come of the situation. I was not being fully present in that moment. I was seriously future-tripping! I do this A LOT.

Future-tripping is when you worry or stress about the future instead of being present and living in the moment.

Every day, I go into that space of future-tripping, whether it be worrying about being late for work or stressing about something that’s happening next week, it is a bad habit that needs to go! 

This topic links in with my post about anxiety last week (which you can read here) as I find it difficult to remain present in a state of anxiety. I have so many tools that can help me during these times of stress, yet when I am in that space, I seem to forget them! The main thing then is for me to just focus on my breath and slow it down. Once I have controlled my breathing, I am then able to focus on my surroundings and bring myself back to the present.

My main tips for you then if you are like me and future-trip your life away are to:

  1. Breathe in a deep breath, hold it for 5 at the top and then let out a long exhale
  2. Take a look around you and list 5 things you are grateful for
  3. Repeat step 1 and say, “I am right where I need to be.”

Another trick that I have tried in the past and will start again is to wear a rubber band or hair tie around your wrist and any time you feel yourself worrying about the future, pull the band back so it pings your wrist. This helps bring you back to the present moment and is great if you’re in public or have limited time.

The only thing that is real is right now. This moment right here is right where you need to be.

Let me know how you get on with this little exercise and if it helps you 🙂 I hope it does!

Love and Light,
Rebecca ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

