Gratitude Is The Best Attitude

Hey all, I hope you have had a wonderful week and are enjoying your weekend! 🙂

Today I want to talk about gratitude. There are so many things in this world to be grateful for. I would be here literally all day, maybe even all week if I tried to list every single thing. It can be hard to remember these wonderful things when we are going through stressful or hard times or even rushing about our day-to-day lives.

Future-tripping is a thing that comes up for a lot of people and prevents us from fully being present. I know that there are times when I struggle with this or even thinking back to the past. However, it is important to remember that all we have is this moment right here. 

Gratitude is the best tool that you can have. It brings joy and really makes you appreciate what you have been given. It can even be something as small as having a cup of tea in your favourite mug.

I’m not just talking about being grateful for the good things, you can also be grateful for the bad things. Now you are probably thinking, “What?!”  But what I mean is that each experience that you have brings a lesson with it. Think back to a tough experience you have went through and focus on whether there was a lesson within that? Maybe something that made you realise something else or made something clearer?

For instance, I am grateful for my ulcerative colitis because in a strange way, it brought me to a journey of finding who I really am. I’m not sure that I would have began my spiritual journey if I hadn’t hit rock bottom. I’m grateful because it inspired me to start yoga and eat healthier (which is something I am still working on!) and gave me the opportunity to connect with my inner self. I have met so many wonderful and inspiring people through having this disease and although, at times when it is really hard and I’m flaring, my first instinct is to curse it and say, “I hate this, I don’t want it.” But when I take the time to just be, I see the good that has come from it.

Gratitude needs to be practised so that in any moment you can choose love and see all the things that you are thankful for.

Some tips on building a gratitude practice:

  • Write a list of things you are grateful for, start with 5 and watch your list grow!
  • Keep a gratitude journal that contains the things that filled you up with love and joy each day
  • Take some time to sit in stillness at the end of the day
  • When a negative thought or situation arises, reach for a more positive feeling by tuning in to gratitude (think back to your list!)
  • Look around you! I’m sure there are plenty of things to be thankful for

So start expressing gratitude today, I promise you will feel lighter, happier and filled with love!

Our ability to change our minds is one of our greatest tools for achieving peace.” – Gabrielle Bernstein. #MiraclesNow

I hope this serves you well.

Love and light,

Rebecca ❤

Leave a Reply

