The Healing Power of Forgiveness

In the past week I’ve heard a lot of people speaking about forgiveness. I’ve been watching lots of periscopes and this seems to be the theme of most of them this week. So I thought, why not join in? Forgiveness is always needed.
Crazy Sexy Love Notes by Kris Carr & Lori Portka.

When you feel resentment towards someone (this could be yourself!) or a situation, you drag yourself down and seriously dim your energy.

The Course states that “All dis-ease comes from a state of unforgiveness.”

So therefore, being in a state of unforgiveness can cause you to feel out of sorts and disconnected from your body and perfect health. Louise Hay talks in detail about this in her amazing book “You Can Heal Your Life.

Louise speaks about how we don’t need to know how to forgive or necessarily even want to forgive, as long as we say we are willing, then we will be set free.

Forgiveness is all about letting go. However, forgiveness is not going to happen overnight, it will take a lot of time and practice.

I believe that everyone holds some sort of resentment towards something in their life. This resentment needs to be released in order to live your life to the fullest.

There are so many different situations that may need to be forgiven and some can be awful. However, no matter how big or small, each situation needs the same commitment to forgive. I’m talking about anything from a small argument to war. If every single person in this world committed to an act of forgiveness every day, I believe we would live in a more peaceful world.

Self-forgiveness is a huge thing and a lot of people don’t realise that they need to forgive themselves as well as others no matter what the situation is. I’m not saying you are to blame for what happened, but you choose how to react and think about the situation. You might overthink it and let it bubble inside you, filling you with resentment. And that’s okay, we are HUMAN after all! But it is important to be willing to release these feelings in order to find peace.

These are some of the things that have been helping me on my forgiveness path. It doesn’t have to be daunting, make it fun! Its a loving, healing journey ❤

  • Writing down the situation that needs forgiveness
  • Witness your part in the situation
  • Forgiveness meditations: Heather Waxman, Gabby Bernstein (recommended for 40 days to witness a shift)
  • Yoga for Forgiveness
  • Reading A Course In Miracles (Forgiveness Sections)
  • Surrendering it to the universe to take care of
  • Looking at the situation from a different perspective
  • Reading quotes/affirmations on forgiveness
  • Watch Jordan Bach’s forgiveness video (this makes me cry, it’s so beautiful!)

Affirmations/ Quotes for ForgivenessMiracles Now Card Deck by Gabrielle Bernstein.

I forgive you for not being the way I wanted you to be. I forgive you and I set you free.”  -Louise Hay, You Can Heal Your Life.

Inner Guide, I recognize that this resentment is causing me harm. My anger and attachment are not serving me. I am willing to forgive.” –Gabrielle Bernstein, Miracles Now.

Forgiveness is not an occasional act, it is a constant attitude.” – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

I pray to forgive and release you.” –Gabrielle Bernstein, Miracles Now.

I forgive myself for who I think I need to be. The Universe loves me just the way I am.” – Unknown

Through forgiveness I set myself free from the fearful world I projected.”-Gabrielle Bernstein, May Cause Miracles.

“I forgive myself for choosing these attack thoughts and I forgive all those involved in the fear I have created.” –Gabrielle Bernstein, May Cause Miracles.

“I forgive my ego for making me feel this resentment and for holding me back from forgiveness.” – Gabrielle Bernstein, May Cause Miracles.

“Inner Guide, please show me how to forgive.” –Gabrielle Bernstein, May Cause Miracles.

“Why let go of yesterday? Because yesterday has already let go of you.” -Jordan Bach

The only complete true thought you can hold about the past is that it is not here.” – A Course In Miracles

Today I choose to look my past square in the eye, learn from it and let it go.” –Jordan Bach

“Forgiveness is giving up the hope that the past could be any different.” -Oprah Winfrey

These are some of my favourite forgiveness quotes. Take a deep, letting go breath any time you feel those resentful thoughts come up and say one of these until you feel a little better.

Be gentle and loving with yourself throughout this process of forgiveness and you will eventually find inner peace.

I hope this serves you well. I would love to hear your stories about forgiveness so if you’d like to share that with me leave me a message on my contacts page.

Love and Light to you all ❤

Rebecca xo

One thought on “The Healing Power of Forgiveness

Leave a Reply

