Transitioning From The Darkness To The Light. My Story.

IMG_5317

“If your life seems full of darkness, look and see if it is you who is blocking the light.”– Katie Piper

Are you blocking your light? Maybe you’re not taking enough time to rest and breathe? Or maybe you have been running around like a headless chicken trying to get everything on your to-do list done while trying to please every single person in your life but yourself? Do you look for the negative in every situation? Do you feel detached in your own body?

Does this sound like you? I know I’ve been there and I still go there often but I now have tools in my tool belt to help reign me back into the present moment and I hope to share these with you through this blog.

My name is Rebecca, a 20 year old girl on a journey of self-healing and self-love. This journey began about a year ago when I realised I really wasn’t taking care of my mind, body or spirit.

What drove me to taking the first step on this path was when I was diagnosed in May 2013 with Ulcerative Colitis. This is a form of Inflammatory Bowel Disease and causes chronic pain. Through having this disease I developed anxiety and this stopped me from being able to go out in crowded places. I was having constant panic attacks and was just generally miserable with the way I was living. I was under a lot of stress at work and had to leave due to ill health.

A few months of no social life, countless medications, doctor’s appointments and hospital admissions, I decided to take a stand and do something to move forward with my life.

I began a daily yoga practice using Yoga With Adriene’s videos on YouTube. This made a huge difference to my anxiety and helped me to relax. My yoga mat was the only place I felt safe and took my mind off the pain of my illness.

One day, I was scrolling through Instagram and a picture jumped out at me (no joke, it was as if all the other pictures were not there, all I could see was this one!) It was a picture of a girl in a hospital bed, holding a book. The book was Gabrielle Bernstein’s ‘May Cause Miracles’. I remember reading the caption of the picture and just knowing that I had to find out more about this author. I didn’t know why, but I had a strange feeling that was gripping me to look her up. I then began searching her up on google and found her YouTube channel. (Man, was I hooked now!).

After watching nearly all of her videos, I then checked online to see what books she had written. I then went out to my local library, borrowed ‘Add More-Ing To Your Life’, downloaded ‘Spirit Junkie’ and ‘May Cause Miracles’ on my kindle.

I started with Spirit Junkie and I could not put that book down! Every single thing that Gabby was saying totally resonated with me (If you have not read any of her books, seriously go check this wonderful woman out!) This was it, the start of my spiritual journey.

I am now a student of ‘A Course in Miracles’, a metaphysical text for inner peace,  and I hope to share what I have learned with you guys by telling you parts of my story and giving advice or simply sharing light when needed. I have a daily meditation and yoga practice. I am in a loving relationship with my fiance of 2 years (together for 3). I’m training to do my dream job of working in a nursery while also starting to learn hand-lettering and typography and have very high hopes of pursuing this as a business in the future.

Seeing that picture on Instagram changed my life and I am forever grateful for it.

I have found inspiration in Gabrielle Bernstein (as you know), Kris Carr, Cassandra Bodzak, Rebecca Campbell, Louise Hay, Wayne Dyer and more.

Thank you for reading my first ever blog post (eek), I hope you liked it and will come back for my next one very soon.

Love and Light to you all ❤

Rebecca Crawford xo

4 thoughts on “Transitioning From The Darkness To The Light. My Story.

  1. Rebecca you are an inspiration to all young people with an illness as yours I moan about a sore leg boy am I embarrassed about that I hope all yours dreams for the future come true and I know Connor will be there by your side I’m so proud to call you my niece and I look forward to reading your next blog lots of love from Meg xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw Maggie thank you so much. This was so lovely and brought tears to my eyes. But every one has their own struggles and pains to deal with. I am praying that your leg heals and you start to feel better soon. Yes he will 🙂 lots of love xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

